I’ve been trying to decide what to write about first, since it feels like I have a lot to choose from. But I’ve decided to take it easy and go with a great, local day trip I took yesterday. It started out an overcast Saturday morning, but turned out to be a beautiful, North Carolina afternoon. Perfect for exploring the countryside within an hour of Greensboro.

After reading about it in several publications and hearing great reviews, I decided I NEEDED to make a trip to the Saxapahaw General Store. A couple of months ago I persuaded a friend to drive down there with me to try it for lunch and it was just as great as I had hoped. Well yesterday we were trying to think of something to do. So I suggested a Central NC tour of sorts. We started with brunch at the General Store, then made our way to the small town of Liberty to visit the Liberty Artisan & Craft Gallery. After walking around the store and looking at all the neat crafts and local items, we headed to Homeland Creamery, outside of the equally small town of Julian. There we were able to treat ourselves to a scoop (or two) of their fabulous ice cream. Made right there on the dairy farm.

The Details

0722161532a.jpgThe tiny crossroads of Saxapahaw is located about 45 minutes southeast of Greensboro,
along the Haw River. Not too far to drive for a great meal. The Saxapahaw General Store has been described as “your local five-star gas station”, and as you can imagine, doesn’t look like much upon first arrival. My friends each got breakfast items, and I chose the fish tacos (blackened catfish). We also got one of the pizzas to sample, because why not. If you live in the general vicinity of central NC, or happen to be traveling through, I recommend adding this stop.

Another 25 minute drive west, and we were at the Liberty Artisan & Craft Gallery. Lots of beautiful crafts and art by local NC artists, as well as an awesome wildlife art exhibit with all kinds of replicas beautifully handcrafted by the store owner (who happens to have once worked at the park where I am currently employed). A great place to spend a bit of time looking around, and maybe buy a Christmas present or even find something for yourself. I bought a beautiful piece of pottery made by a lady in Graham, NC.

Screenshot_2016-09-18-17-58-05.png

Now for the important part of the day, the ice cream… About 15 more minutes north to Homeland Creamery located on the Bowman Dairy Farm. Lots of delicious flavors await (I chose lemon crunch and chocolate peanut butter cup). While you eat, you can stroll outside under the shade of the giant oak tree (I’m not that great with tree ID, that just sounded good) and visit the 2 new calves napping in their pen or take pictures of the cows in the pasture.

After all of that it was a simple 30 minute drive up US 421 back to Greensboro. A perfect loop for a lazy Saturday when you want to do something, but not too much. As you may have noticed, I love North Carolina, and I love exploring all there is to do and see. Several of the adventures I want to share include places within a few hours drive. Beautiful places, good food, and interesting people. From the mountains to the ocean, NC literally has it all!

Check out the map below for a more detailed look at our day.

